I remember my first weeks as a newly engaged bride to be. I joined just about every wedding website possible! Ha! I know very crazy right? But my favorite wedding site is "theknot.com". I am totally addicted to this site! It’s like a crazy bride club. We vent, share tips and vendor recommendations, but the fun part of it all is all the D.I.Y. projects you come across. I never thought I would be that bride that enjoyed working on different wedding projects, boy was I wrong! I'm going to tell you why I am now addicted to D.I.Y. projects.
1. You learn that you have creative talents that you never would have thought you had! I was forced to know that I am creative! LOL
2. It saves you lots and lots of money to create items that someone else charges an arm and a leg for.
3. Last but certainly not least. I feel that once my wedding day gets here, I will look around at all my projects and appreciate the hard work being paid of.


So I am ready to share some of the small projects that I have been working on.

Pomander Ball: A ball usually covered in flowers, fabric or ribbon. Used at the ceremony as decoration on each pew down the aisle, or at a garden ceremony they on each chair or at the reception as decoration.
I was inspired by a knottie (hippy) to use ribbon for my pomanders. I'm not sure how many of these I will make and where I will use them, but the project was so simple and pretty, that I just had to create one.

Items used: Green Styrofoam ball, ribbon, craft flowers and bridal push pins.
Time Spent: 45 minutes
Amount Spent: $6


 
Picture
Picture
Here are a few more D.I.Y
1.I Do Letters. These will be placed on the cake table.
Items used: wooden letters and purple paint, random silk flower petals.
Time Spent - about 1 day..including drying time
Money Spent:about $4
Picture
2.Picture Frames: Not too sure what I am going to do with these either, but it was a very simple and easy project. The best part of this is that I found these at a garage sell and I had to buy them! they were only .25 cents a piece! I'm sure we will find some way to use these. If you have any suggestions, please share here and leave a comment!!

Items used: picture frames, paint brush, purple paint.
Time spent - about one day, including drying time
Money spent : $1.25 ( for all 6!)
*paint was left over from other D.I.Y projects.
Picture
Picture
Picture
Here is a sneak peek at centerpiece/table decor ideas.
The flowers are silk. I paid Michaels arts and crafts to create the
 floral centerpiece for me. The cost of the centerpiece was $25

Ok, I'm done with the DIY stuff for today. Please share your comments with me!!

Happy Wedding Planning!

naima
9/21/2009 11:03:25 pm

wow! i really love your pommander..i'm sure you can use these somewhere in the church?

Reply
Jayonne
9/28/2009 03:49:27 pm

I think you guys could pictures of yourselves in the frames and use them for centerpieces on the table. Maybe each table has it's own pic. You could try current pics or pics that show the journey of your relationship. Just some ideas :)

Reply
mink492
10/1/2009 12:32:33 am

"Last but certainly not least. I feel that once my wedding day gets here, I will look around at all my projects and appreciate the hard work being paid off"

This is 100% true! I have gotten SO many compliments on all my "personal touches". It feels really good to see all your work come together & have people be impressed.

Reply
12/13/2010 10:32:04 am

This the reunion of a couple after they lose touch or break up.

Reply
12/14/2010 02:46:43 pm

The sky gives space and peace and serenity

Reply
12/26/2010 04:19:41 pm

What successes are contained in the failure?

Reply



Leave a Reply.